The Best 4 Years

Let’s make this the beginning of the rest of our lives instead of just the best 4 years we’ll ever have…

All I have heard for the past 4 years is that these are the best 4 years of my life. That upsets me and depresses me on a regular basis. I found a quote I had written in my journal that says, “I’m so afraid this is the happiest I’ll ever be.” That is such garbage. I hope I just get happier and happier. 

I have seen so many beautiful older women lately that look so vibrant and happy. Do you think they look back and say college was the best section of their lives? I doubt it. They’ve gotten to fall in love (maybe a few times), get married, see their children fall in love, see their grandchildren grow up, and maybe even seen the birth of a few great-grandchildren. Now those are the best years of life. 

Now don’t get me wrong, college has been the best years of my life SO FAR, but it makes me sad to think that I may never feel this happy again. Getting close to graduation has me terrified because I don’t know if I’ll ever be this comfortable or free again. I won’t ever get to be an irresponsible college kid with friends all over campus again. I won’t get to stay up all night talking about what the future will be like. I won’t get to stay in bed all day then stay out all night. Or will I? Who says I can’t? 

Who says I can’t keep in touch with all the cool people I’ve met in college? Who says I can’t stay up all night with my girlfriends? Who says my husband and I can’t stay in our PJs all day until we decide to finally go get dinner at 9 pm? 

We freak ourselves out and try to rush to do all the cool things we want to do in this 4 year span when in all actuality, we may do something even cooler 4 years from now. We use college as an excuse to be wild and carefree for 4 years, but we should be making these years count for more than parties and wild nights. We should be making connections and making differences. We should be spreading love and giving life to others. 

It’s a confusing time and a time to figure out who you are. Mistakes will be made, but they’ll be made for the next 400 years as well. It’s the way we handle ourselves and the negativity that makes for a good 4 years. These 4 years should really be the foundation for the rest of our lives. 

Use the time to find yourself and figure out who you are and where you want to be, but don’t let these 4 years limit you to the happiest years. Use them as a glimpse into the future. Build your character and then run free with it until the last 4 seconds of your life. 

So I guess I’m writing this to myself as much as I am to anyone else. Don’t be afraid that you’ll never laugh or cry or feel again. This is just the start. These aren’t the best 4 years of your life, they’re the first 4 years of the rest of forever. 

One thought on “The Best 4 Years

  1. Perfectly said, Kaitlin. I can’t tell you how many times I think the same exact thing. Our minds can’t even fathom the great deal of happiness and adventure that God has in store for us in the coming years.

    Like

Leave a Reply

