Hopeless Romantic With an Emphasis on Hopeless

Hopeless romance can be the best or worst thing depending on your outcome…

Girls age 5 to 85 are all hopeless romantics. Even the ones that say, “I hate Valentine’s Day and lovey dovey anything,” are really hopeless romantics. We were made from love so we are all after the one thing that will make us complete. But even with all the romance novels, movies, quotes, books…it just seems really hopeless.

I see Instagram posts at least once a week from new engagement. I see Pinterest boards full of fairytales. I read endless quotes about finding true love. But that’s as far as it goes. My romance begins and ends with blog posts and tweets. It all just seems hopeless. The chance of romance seems hopeless to me. I have a hunch that I’m not the only twenty-something that feels that way. 

We walk around waiting to meet the love of our life. Hoping he will walk into the coffee shop. Hoping to bump into him on the street. Praying he will fall out of the sky and into your life. But then it doesn’t happen. Or it does and ends up being terrible. Either way, where is the romance? Where are the fireworks?

I am always such a hopeful person, but I am beginning to really put the hopeless in hopeless romantic. Like underline, bold, and italicize the word because I am just hopeless. Maybe that’s the answer. Maybe when I get completely, hopelessly hopeless, he will come around and spark the romance in my life. We invest so much into movies and shows that spew with romance. The Bachelor and The Bachelorette have become household shows that set us up for relationships filled with extravagant dates and roses galore. While that is a lot to expect from someone, I still dream that my prince charming will come along unexpectedly with a dozen daisies and a picnic basket. In reality, we need to know that love doesn’t have to be extravagant. It can be simple. Simple is good. Simple is beautiful. When all of the extravagance is taken aways, love is simple. All of these expectations we have just fuel our hopelessness. 

While I’m becoming more and more of a hopeless hopeless romantic, I think that maybe there is still just a little bit of hope. Maybe there are a few good men that seek the love of God and use that to love women. Maybe there are a few guys that want to show a woman the beautiful simplicity of love. Maybe not all hope is lost for us hopeless romantics.  

4 thoughts on “Hopeless Romantic With an Emphasis on Hopeless

Leave a Reply

